Xbox Game Pass: The Price Rise, the Reversal and the Metered Cloud
GamingCloud gamingGame PassMicrosoftSubscriptionsXbox

Microsoft launched Xbox Game Pass in 2017 as a $9.99-a-month catalogue subscription, then made new Microsoft Studios games available on release day in 2018 and built the broader Ultimate tier around console, PC and other benefits. Microsoft reported more than 25 million members in January 2022 and 34 million in February 2024, although the latter figure included Game Pass Core subscribers and is not directly comparable with earlier disclosures. After separating day-one access from lower-priced tiers, Microsoft rebuilt the service as Essential, Premium and Ultimate in October 2025, raised Ultimate to $29.99, then cut it to $22.99 in April 2026 while ending day-one access for new Call of Duty games on Ultimate and PC Game Pass. New Xbox leadership says the prior Game Pass strategy underdelivered and the October price rise lost millions of subscribers; it is now also imposing cloud-streaming hour caps and selling additional playtime, while maintaining that already announced Ultimate day-one releases have not changed.
Key moments
- Feb 28, 2017Microsoft announces Xbox Game Pass
- Jan 23, 2018Microsoft commits new Xbox exclusives to Game Pass on release day
- Feb 15, 2024Microsoft reports 34 million Game Pass subscribers
- May 28, 2024Microsoft confirms Black Ops 6 for Game Pass on day one
- Oct 1, 2025Game Pass is rebuilt into Essential, Premium and Ultimate
- Apr 21, 2026Microsoft reverses most of the increase, cutting Ultimate to $22.99
- Apr 21, 2026Call of Duty loses its day-one place on Game Pass
- Jun 9, 2026Ball says the price rise cost Game Pass millions of subscribers
- Jul 6, 2026Xbox cuts up to 3,200 staff and sells four studios, and says the Game Pass bet underdelivered
- Sep 3, 2026Cloud gaming gets a monthly hour limit on every tier
- Sep 3, 2026Cloud streaming is unbundled from the subscription
- Sep 15, 2026Xbox says announced day-one Ultimate releases have not changed
Timeline
Earlier years show only their entries' dates and titles. Click a year heading to show the details.
202617 entries
- Report
Asha Sharma says prior Game Pass strategy caused declines
Windows Central reported that Xbox CEO Asha Sharma said the previous Xbox Game Pass strategy sent Xbox into balance-sheet declines. The report linked her statement to effects on Call of Duty and Xbox Game Pass.
- Windows Central · Oct 6, 2026 ·
She reiterated that the previous Xbox Game Pass strategy sent Xbox into "freefall" declines on the balance sheet, likely referring to the damage at both ends to Call of Duty and Xbox Game Pass.
Editor's note: The cited Windows Central page states that Sharma said the previous Xbox Game Pass strategy caused “freefall” balance-sheet declines and connects this to Call of Duty and Game Pass. The readable page text does not provide an event date supporting 2026-10-06.
- Windows Central · Oct 6, 2026 ·
- Report
Xbox Cloud Gaming stops supporting Samsung's 2020 Tizen TVs
Windows Central reported that Xbox Cloud Gaming was retiring its app on some TV sets and said the cause was the sets themselves: the latest version of the service needs newer Chromium APIs, Samsung has no plans to update its Tizen-based 2020 TVs, and Chromium there has not been updated in almost a decade. Its sources said there were no plans to slow Xbox Cloud Gaming down, and that reports Microsoft had cancelled forthcoming cloud-gaming controllers were false.
- Windows Central · Oct 2, 2026 ·
Samsung has no plans to bring further updates to their Tizen-based 2020 TV sets, and Chromium hasn't been updated there in almost a decade.
Editor's note: The page’s update is dated October 2, 2026 and states that Samsung has no plans for further updates to Tizen-based 2020 TV sets, while Chromium has not been updated there in almost a decade. The quoted wording appears verbatim.
- Windows Central · Oct 2, 2026 ·
- Launch
Black Ops 6 becomes available on Game Pass Premium

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 became available to Game Pass Premium members. The game remained available through Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 15, 2026 ·
Now with Game Pass Premium; joining Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass
Editor's note: The page lists Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 as coming to Game Pass on September 25 and says it is now with Game Pass Premium, joining Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 15, 2026 ·
- Announcement
Undead Labs transitions to a new publisher for State of Decay 3

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Microsoft said Undead Labs had transitioned to a new publisher. It said State of Decay 3 would release on Xbox Game Pass on its first day.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 22, 2026 ·
“Undead Labs has now successfully transitioned on similar terms and, with a new publisher, will release State of Decay 3 day one on Game Pass.”
Editor's note: The page states that Undead Labs had successfully transitioned on similar terms and that, with a new publisher, State of Decay 3 will release day one on Game Pass. The page is dated September 22, 2026.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 22, 2026 ·
- ResponseKey moment
Xbox says announced day-one Ultimate releases have not changed
Xbox said there were no changes to previously announced games coming to Xbox Game Pass Ultimate on day one. The statement addressed reports that day-one releases could be removed in a 2027 restructuring.
- Windows Central · Sep 17, 2026 ·
“There are no changes to previously announced games coming to Game Pass Ultimate on day one.”
Editor's note: The page reports an Xbox spokesperson saying there were no changes to previously announced games coming to Game Pass Ultimate on day one, in response to rumors of a 2027 restructuring. The page dates the cited spokesperson statement September 15, 2026.
- Windows Central · Sep 17, 2026 ·
- Report
The caps follow a company-wide turn towards usage-based pricing
CNBC put the decision in a wider Microsoft context: after years of unlimited streaming, the company said it was looking for a better balance between usage and costs, and its executives had been working out how to charge customers by usage across product lines.
- CNBC · Sep 3, 2026 ·
Microsoft's Xbox unit said Thursday that it will impose monthly cloud gaming time limits for Game Pass subscribers after years of unlimited access, as the company seeks to find a better balance between usage and costs.
- CNBC · Sep 3, 2026 ·
- UpdateKey moment
Cloud streaming is unbundled from the subscription
The same announcement opened cloud gaming to people without a Game Pass subscription: buy hours through the store and stream games you already own. Metering the hours is what makes selling them separately possible.
- Xbox Wire · Sep 3, 2026 ·
Cloud Gaming Without a Game Pass Subscription Also beginning in November, players will have a new way to use XBOX cloud gaming without subscribing to Game Pass. Players will be able to purchase cloud playtime hours through the XBOX Store and stream eligible games they own on supported devices.
- Xbox Wire · Sep 3, 2026 ·
- Announcement
Microsoft says the caps will affect 4 percent of subscribers
The company framed the change as touching a small minority, and said those who run out will be able to buy more playtime through the Xbox Store.
- Xbox Wire · Sep 3, 2026 ·
We expect this upcoming change to impact 4% of Game Pass subscribers. Once subscribers use their included hours, they will be able to purchase additional cloud playtime through the XBOX Store.
- Xbox Wire · Sep 3, 2026 ·
- AnnouncementKey moment
Cloud gaming gets a monthly hour limit on every tier

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use From November, streaming is capped at 15 hours a month on Ultimate, 10 on Premium and 5 on Essential. Games installed locally through Game Pass are unaffected; only cloud streaming is metered.
- Xbox Wire · Sep 3, 2026 ·
Game Pass plans will include a set number of cloud gaming hours each month: Game Pass Ultimate: 15 hours Game Pass Premium: 10 hours Game Pass Essential: 5 hours Today, eligible Game Pass subscribers can stream without these monthly hour limits.
- Xbox Wire · Sep 3, 2026 ·
- Update
Helen Chiang is promoted to chief operating officer
Asha Sharma said Helen Chiang was promoted to chief operating officer. Chiang would report directly to Sharma.
- Variety · Jul 7, 2026 ·
Helen Chiang has been promoted to this role and will report directly to me.
Editor's note: Date corrected from 2026-07-06 to 2026-07-07. The page states that Asha Sharma promoted Helen Chiang to chief operating officer and that Chiang would report directly to her; the quoted sentence appears verbatim. The article is dated July 7, 2026, not July 6, 2026.
- Variety · Jul 7, 2026 ·
- ResponseKey moment
Xbox cuts up to 3,200 staff and sells four studios, and says the Game Pass bet underdelivered
Asha Sharma told staff the division would shed up to 3,200 people, about 20 percent of headcount, over the following year, and that Ninja Theory, Undead Labs, Compulsion Games and Double Fine would be spun out or sold. Her memo said the bet on Game Pass, multi-platform publishing and a broader content portfolio had created meaningful value but had not grown at the pace the company expected.
- Variety · Jul 7, 2026 ·
Xbox is set to reduce its workforce by up to 3,200 employees - or 20% of total staff - over the next year in what new CEO Asha Sharma calls the "most significant restructure" in the Microsoft division's history.
- Variety · Jul 7, 2026 ·
To grow, we bet on Game Pass, multi-platform, and a broader portfolio of content. While those businesses have created meaningful value, they did not grow at the pace we expected.
Editor's note: Re-sourced and rewritten in review. The entry had summarised a 3,200-person restructuring and four studio divestments as "began a restructuring of its organization". Both quotes are verbatim in the Variety report, dated July 7 and describing Sharma announcing the changes on the Monday, July 6.
- Variety · Jul 7, 2026 ·
- ReportKey moment
Ball says the price rise cost Game Pass millions of subscribers
Speaking publicly at The Games Business, Xbox's new strategy chief put a size on the damage from the October increase. It was the first acknowledgement from inside the company that the rise had driven subscribers away.
- This Week In Video Games · Jun 9, 2026 ·
Ball also touched on the effects of the Xbox Game Pass price increase, which saw a 50% hike in late 2025, saying "we shed millions of subscribers over the span of a few months."
- This Week In Video Games · Jun 9, 2026 ·
- Update
Xbox hires the analyst Matthew Ball as chief strategy officer
Ball, known for an annual state-of-video-gaming report, was announced by the new Xbox chief executive Asha Sharma alongside a new chief technology officer, part of a run of outside hires into the leadership.
- Variety · May 20, 2026 ·
Xbox has hired Matthew Ball, a video game analyst best known for his popular annual state of video gaming report, as its new chief of strategy. The decision was announced by new Xbox CEO Asha Sharma Wednesday, along with the new hires of Scott Van Vliet as chief technology officer and the promotion of Chris Schnakenberg to corporate vice president, partnerships & business development.
- Variety · May 20, 2026 ·
- AnnouncementKey moment
Call of Duty loses its day-one place on Game Pass
The price cut came with a trade. New Call of Duty games would no longer arrive on Ultimate or PC Game Pass at launch, joining about a year later instead, though titles already in the library stayed.
- Xbox Wire · Apr 21, 2026 ·
Beginning this year, future Call of Duty titles won't join Game Pass Ultimate or PC Game Pass at launch. New Call of Duty games will be added to Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass during the following holiday season (about a year later), while existing Call of Duty titles already in the library will continue to be available.
- Xbox Wire · Apr 21, 2026 ·
- AnnouncementKey moment
Microsoft reverses most of the increase, cutting Ultimate to $22.99

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Six months after the rise, Ultimate came down from $29.99 to $22.99 a month and PC Game Pass from $16.49 to $13.99. The reversal left Ultimate above where it had been a year earlier but well below the October price.
- Xbox Wire · Apr 21, 2026 ·
Starting today, Game Pass Ultimate drops from $29.99 to $22.99 a month. PC Game Pass will also drop from $16.49 to $13.99 a month.
- Xbox Wire · Apr 21, 2026 ·
- Update
Matt Booty is elevated to chief content officer
Matt Booty was elevated to executive vice president and chief content officer. He would report to Asha Sharma.
- Windows Central · Feb 20, 2026 ·
As part of the restructuring, Matt Booty has been elevated to Executive Vice President and Chief Content Officer, reporting to Sharma.
Editor's note: The page states that Matt Booty was elevated to Executive Vice President and Chief Content Officer and would report to Asha Sharma. It does not provide a readable publication or event date supporting 2026-02-20.
- Windows Central · Feb 20, 2026 ·
- Update
Phil Spencer retires as Microsoft reorganizes gaming leadership
Microsoft announced a reorganization of its gaming division. Windows Central reported that Phil Spencer was retiring.
- Windows Central · Feb 20, 2026 ·
Microsoft has announced a sweeping reorganization of its gaming division as longtime Xbox leader Phil Spencer retires after nearly four decades at the company.
Editor's note: The page states that Microsoft reorganized its gaming division and that Phil Spencer retired after nearly four decades, matching the summary and quote. The readable page text does not provide a publication or announcement date that supports February 20, 2026.
- Windows Central · Feb 20, 2026 ·
20253 entries
- Update
Ultimate is pitched on more than 75 day-one releases a year
Day-one access to new first-party games stayed exclusive to the top tier, and Microsoft put a number on it for the first time.
- Xbox Wire, via Total Gaming Network · Oct 1, 2025 ·
Ultimate subscribers now get access to over 75 day one releases a year.
- Xbox Wire, via Total Gaming Network · Oct 1, 2025 ·
- AnnouncementKey moment
Game Pass is rebuilt into Essential, Premium and Ultimate
Microsoft replaced Core and Standard with Essential and Premium, kept Ultimate at the top and moved every existing subscriber across automatically. Ultimate's price went from $19.99 to $29.99 a month, a 50 percent rise, justified by a larger library and added services.
- Xbox Wire, via Total Gaming Network · Oct 1, 2025 ·
Starting today, we're introducing three upgraded Game Pass plans based on how players play: Essential, Premium, and Ultimate. Each includes expanded game libraries, including PC titles, unlimited cloud gaming, in-game benefits (including Riot Games titles), and a revamped Rewards with Xbox experience.
- Xbox Wire, via Total Gaming Network · Oct 1, 2025 ·
- Launch
Microsoft opens cloud gaming test to Core and Standard Insiders

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Microsoft opened Xbox Cloud Gaming access to Xbox Insiders subscribed to Game Pass Core or Standard. The access was described as a beta offering.
- XBOX Wire · Aug 27, 2025 ·
Xbox Insiders subscribed to Xbox Game Pass Core or Standard now have even more freedom to play wherever they are with Xbox Cloud Gaming (Beta).
Editor's note: The page, dated 2025-08-27, states that Xbox Insiders with Game Pass Core or Standard can use Xbox Cloud Gaming (Beta). It presents this as an Insider experience/test.
- XBOX Wire · Aug 27, 2025 ·
- Oct 1, 2025Ultimate is pitched on more than 75 day-one releases a year
- Oct 1, 2025Game Pass is rebuilt into Essential, Premium and Ultimate
- Aug 27, 2025Microsoft opens cloud gaming test to Core and Standard Insiders
20248 entries
- Launch
Microsoft starts an Insider preview of Game Pass Standard

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Microsoft began offering Xbox Insiders access to try Xbox Game Pass Standard. It said participants could provide feedback on the new membership.
- XBOX Wire · Aug 20, 2024 ·
Starting today, we’re offering Xbox Insiders the option to try out and provide feedback on our new membership, Xbox Game Pass Standard.
Editor's note: The page is readable and states that, starting August 20, 2024, Xbox Insiders could try Xbox Game Pass Standard and provide feedback. The quoted sentence appears on the page.
- XBOX Wire · Aug 20, 2024 ·
- Announcement
Microsoft stops new Game Pass for Console subscriptions
Microsoft said Xbox Game Pass for Console would stop accepting new users. It also announced a forthcoming Game Pass Standard tier without day-one releases.
- Windows Central · Jul 9, 2024 ·
Soon, Xbox Game Pass for Console will be shuttered for new users only.
Editor's note: The page states that new users will no longer be able to sign up for Xbox Game Pass for Console and that a forthcoming Standard tier will exclude day-one games. It does not provide a readable publication or announcement date supporting 2024-07-09.
- Windows Central · Jul 9, 2024 ·
- Financial
Microsoft raises annual Game Pass Core price to $74.99
Microsoft announced that annual Xbox Game Pass Core would cost $74.99, up from $59.99. Its monthly price would remain $9.99.
- Windows Central · Jul 9, 2024 ·
Xbox Game Pass Core gets an annual price increase to $74.99 from $59.99, but it will remain $9.99 per month.
Editor's note: The page states that Game Pass Core's annual price would increase from $59.99 to $74.99 while remaining $9.99 per month, and the quoted sentence appears verbatim. It says Microsoft confirmed the changes “Today,” but the readable page text does not provide a publication or event date that verifies 2024-07-09.
- Windows Central · Jul 9, 2024 ·
- Financial
Microsoft raises US PC Game Pass price to $11.99
Microsoft announced a PC Game Pass price increase from $9.99 to $11.99 per month in the United States. The price change applied to PC Game Pass.
- Windows Central · Jul 9, 2024 ·
PC Game Pass is also getting a price increase, from $9.99 per month to $11.99.
Editor's note: The page explicitly says that PC Game Pass will rise from $9.99 to $11.99 per month and identifies it as a PC Game Pass price increase. The article describes Microsoft confirming the changes on the publication date, July 9, 2024.
- Windows Central · Jul 9, 2024 ·
- Financial
Microsoft raises US Game Pass Ultimate price to $19.99
Microsoft announced a new US Game Pass Ultimate price of $19.99 per month. The change was part of a package of Game Pass changes.
- Windows Central · Jul 9, 2024 ·
The new price will be $19.99 per month.
Editor's note: The page states that Xbox Game Pass Ultimate's new price will be $19.99 per month and describes it among broader Game Pass tier and price changes. It presents the announcement as occurring on July 9, 2024.
- Windows Central · Jul 9, 2024 ·
- AnnouncementKey moment
Microsoft confirms Black Ops 6 for Game Pass on day one

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Microsoft confirmed that Game Pass members could play Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 on day one. The announcement concerned the game's Game Pass availability.
- XBOX Wire · May 28, 2024 ·
We’re excited to confirm that Game Pass members will be able to jump into Call of Duty®: Black Ops 6 on day one with Game Pass.
Editor's note: The page, dated May 28, 2024, explicitly confirms that Game Pass members can play Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 on day one. The quoted sentence appears on the page.
- XBOX Wire · May 28, 2024 ·
- Response
Microsoft reaffirms day-one Game Pass releases
Microsoft said its games would come to Game Pass on day one. The statement was made in its business update.
- XBOX Wire · Feb 15, 2024 ·
Our games will come to Game Pass day one.
Editor's note: The page is dated February 15, 2024 and states that Xbox shared its update on a special edition of the Official Xbox Podcast. It explicitly says, “Our games will come to Game Pass day one.”
- XBOX Wire · Feb 15, 2024 ·
- FinancialKey moment
Microsoft reports 34 million Game Pass subscribers
Microsoft said it had 34 million Xbox Game Pass subscribers. A Microsoft spokesperson told Windows Central that the figure included Game Pass Core subscribers.
- XBOX Wire · Feb 15, 2024 ·
We’re excited to bring more of the biggest games to our 34M XGP subscribers.
- Windows Central · Feb 15, 2024 ·
A Microsoft spokesperson confirmed to us that this new figure reflects the fact that Xbox Game Pass Core subscribers are now included in that overall tally.
Editor's note: Xbox Wire states that Xbox had 34 million XGP subscribers on February 15, 2024. Windows Central reports that a Microsoft spokesperson confirmed the total includes Xbox Game Pass Core subscribers.
- XBOX Wire · Feb 15, 2024 ·
- Aug 20, 2024Microsoft starts an Insider preview of Game Pass Standard
- Jul 9, 2024Microsoft stops new Game Pass for Console subscriptions
- Jul 9, 2024Microsoft raises annual Game Pass Core price to $74.99
- Jul 9, 2024Microsoft raises US PC Game Pass price to $11.99
- Jul 9, 2024Microsoft raises US Game Pass Ultimate price to $19.99
- May 28, 2024Microsoft confirms Black Ops 6 for Game Pass on day one
- Feb 15, 2024Microsoft reaffirms day-one Game Pass releases
- Feb 15, 2024Microsoft reports 34 million Game Pass subscribers
20233 entries
- Launch
Xbox Live Gold becomes Xbox Game Pass Core

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Xbox Live Gold was converted into Xbox Game Pass Core. Microsoft said the change would take effect on September 14.
- XBOX Wire · Jul 17, 2023 ·
Xbox Live Gold is becoming Xbox Game Pass Core starting September 14.
Editor's note: The page states that Xbox Live Gold would become Xbox Game Pass Core starting September 14. It also says existing Xbox Live Gold members would automatically become Game Pass Core members on September 14.
- XBOX Wire · Jul 17, 2023 ·
- Financial
Microsoft raises US Console and Ultimate Game Pass prices
Microsoft raised the US Console Game Pass price from $9.99 to $10.99 per month. It also raised Game Pass Ultimate from $14.99 to $16.99 per month.
- Windows Central · Jul 5, 2023 ·
Specifically, Game Pass is going from $9.99 to $10.99 (€10.99 / £8.99).
Editor's note: The page states that Xbox Game Pass would rise from $9.99 to $10.99 and Game Pass Ultimate from $14.99 to $16.99. It says the price increase begins on July 6, supporting the stated event date.
- Windows Central · Jul 5, 2023 ·
- Regulatory
Microsoft reaches a 10-year agreement with Nintendo
Microsoft said it reached a binding 10-year legal agreement with Nintendo. The agreement concerned Call of Duty availability for Nintendo Switch devices.
- Microsoft · Feb 21, 2023 ·
Microsoft had reached a binding, 10-year, definitive legal agreement with Nintendo.
Editor's note: The transcript is dated Tuesday, February 21, 2023, and states that Microsoft had reached a binding, 10-year, definitive legal agreement with Nintendo. It says the agreement obligated Microsoft to make Call of Duty available for Nintendo and its Switch devices for the next 10 years.
- Microsoft · Feb 21, 2023 ·
- Sep 14, 2023Xbox Live Gold becomes Xbox Game Pass Core
- Jul 6, 2023Microsoft raises US Console and Ultimate Game Pass prices
- Feb 21, 2023Microsoft reaches a 10-year agreement with Nintendo
20221 entry
- Financial
Microsoft reports over 25 million Game Pass members

Image: Microsoft · source Microsoft said more than 25 million Xbox Game Pass members played Xbox games each month. The figure was included in its Activision Blizzard acquisition announcement.
- Microsoft Source · Jan 18, 2022 ·
More than 100 million gamers, including over 25 million Xbox Game Pass members, play Xbox games across console, PC, mobile phones and tablets each month.
Editor's note: The page states that Microsoft announced plans to acquire Activision Blizzard on Jan. 18, 2022, and says Game Pass had reached over 25 million subscribers. It also contains the quoted sentence verbatim in its gaming fast facts.
- Microsoft Source · Jan 18, 2022 ·
20211 entry
- Financial
Phil Spencer says Game Pass passed 18 million members
Phil Spencer said Microsoft had previously announced that Game Pass passed 18 million members. He described the milestone as occurring earlier in 2021.
- XBOX Wire · Jun 10, 2021 ·
Earlier this year, we announced that our Game Pass subscription had passed 18 million members.
Editor's note: The page is readable and contains Phil Spencer's quoted statement verbatim. It is published June 10, 2021, and the statement describes the 18 million-member milestone as having been announced earlier that year.
- XBOX Wire · Jun 10, 2021 ·
20204 entries
- Delay
Microsoft delays EA Play on PC Game Pass until 2021
Microsoft delayed EA Play's inclusion in PC Game Pass and Game Pass Ultimate until 2021. The delay applied to the PC release.
- XBOX Wire · Dec 15, 2020 ·
We made the decision to delay until 2021 the release of EA Play on PC as part of the Xbox Game Pass for PC and Ultimate memberships.
responded to Microsoft announces EA Play for Ultimate and PC Game Pass.
Editor's note: The page states that EA Play on PC was delayed until 2021 for Xbox Game Pass for PC and Ultimate memberships. It is dated December 15, 2020, matching the node date.
- XBOX Wire · Dec 15, 2020 ·
- Announcement
Microsoft announces EA Play for Ultimate and PC Game Pass

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Microsoft said it had teamed up with Electronic Arts to provide EA Play memberships to Xbox Game Pass Ultimate and PC members. The memberships would be provided at no additional cost.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 29, 2020 ·
Earlier this month we announced that we’ve teamed up with Electronic Arts to provide Xbox Game Pass Ultimate and PC members an EA Play membership at no additional cost.
was answered by Microsoft delays EA Play on PC Game Pass until 2021.
Editor's note: The page is readable and is dated 2020-09-29. It states that Microsoft had teamed up with Electronic Arts to provide EA Play memberships to Xbox Game Pass Ultimate and PC members at no additional cost; the quoted text appears on the page.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 29, 2020 ·
- Financial
Microsoft reports more than 15 million Game Pass members
Microsoft said Xbox Game Pass had more than 15 million members. It said those members were from 41 countries.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 29, 2020 ·
As we announced last week, we now have more than 15 million Xbox Game Pass members from 41 countries.
Editor's note: The page states that Xbox Game Pass had more than 15 million members from 41 countries. It is dated September 29, 2020.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 29, 2020 ·
- Financial
Microsoft sets PC Game Pass price at $9.99 a month
Microsoft ended the introductory PC Game Pass price. It said Xbox Game Pass for PC would be available for $9.99 a month.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 14, 2020 ·
After that, Xbox Game Pass for PC will be available for $9.99 a month.
Editor's note: The page says Microsoft was retiring the introductory PC Game Pass price on September 17 and states that, after the next billing cycle for existing members, Xbox Game Pass for PC would cost $9.99 per month. The page is dated September 14, 2020, but the stated pricing change date is September 17, 2020.
- XBOX Wire · Sep 14, 2020 ·
- Dec 15, 2020Microsoft delays EA Play on PC Game Pass until 2021
- Sep 29, 2020Microsoft announces EA Play for Ultimate and PC Game Pass
- Sep 29, 2020Microsoft reports more than 15 million Game Pass members
- Sep 17, 2020Microsoft sets PC Game Pass price at $9.99 a month
20192 entries
- Launch
Microsoft adds PC Game Pass to Game Pass Ultimate

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Microsoft launched Xbox Game Pass for PC and made Game Pass Ultimate broadly available. PC Game Pass was added to Ultimate at no additional cost.
- XBOX Wire · Jun 9, 2019 ·
Today, we are adding Xbox Game Pass for PC to Xbox Game Pass Ultimate at no additional cost.
Editor's note: The page is dated June 9, 2019 and states that Xbox Game Pass for PC launched that day, while Xbox Game Pass Ultimate became available to everyone. It also contains the quoted sentence stating that PC Game Pass was added to Ultimate at no additional cost.
- XBOX Wire · Jun 9, 2019 ·
- Announcement
Microsoft announces Xbox Game Pass Ultimate

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Microsoft announced Xbox Game Pass Ultimate. The tier combined Xbox Game Pass with Xbox Live Gold.
- XBOX Wire · Apr 16, 2019 ·
Xbox Game Pass Ultimate will include all of the benefits of Xbox Live Gold with Xbox Game Pass.
Editor's note: The page is readable and is dated April 16, 2019. It explicitly announces Xbox Game Pass Ultimate and states that it includes the benefits of Xbox Live Gold with Xbox Game Pass.
- XBOX Wire · Apr 16, 2019 ·
- Jun 9, 2019Microsoft adds PC Game Pass to Game Pass Ultimate
- Apr 16, 2019Microsoft announces Xbox Game Pass Ultimate
20181 entry
- AnnouncementKey moment
Microsoft commits new Xbox exclusives to Game Pass on release day

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Microsoft said new Xbox One exclusive games from Microsoft Studios would enter Xbox Game Pass on their global release date. The policy covered future releases.
- XBOX Wire · Jan 23, 2018 ·
Moving forward, we plan to release all new Xbox One exclusive games from Microsoft Studios into Xbox Game Pass on the same date as their global release.
Editor's note: The page is readable and dated January 23, 2018. It states that, moving forward, all new Xbox One exclusive games from Microsoft Studios would enter Xbox Game Pass on the same date as their global release, including future unannounced titles.
- XBOX Wire · Jan 23, 2018 ·
20172 entries
- Launch
Xbox Game Pass becomes available to all users

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Xbox Game Pass became available to all users with an Xbox Live account. Xbox Live Gold members received early access before the general availability date.
- XBOX Wire · May 24, 2017 ·
On Thursday, June 1, Xbox Game Pass will be available for all users.
Editor's note: The page states that Xbox Game Pass would be available to all users on Thursday, June 1, and specifies that anyone with an Xbox Live account could start a 14-day free trial. It also says Xbox Live Gold members received exclusive early access beginning May 24.
- XBOX Wire · May 24, 2017 ·
- AnnouncementKey moment
Microsoft announces Xbox Game Pass

Image: Microsoft / Xbox · source · editorial use Microsoft announced Xbox Game Pass for $9.99 per month. It said the service offered access to more than 100 Xbox One and backward-compatible Xbox 360 games.
- XBOX Wire · Feb 28, 2017 ·
Xbox Game Pass gives you unlimited access to over 100 Xbox One and backward compatible Xbox 360 games – all for $9.99 per month.
Editor's note: The page is readable and is dated February 28, 2017. It announces Xbox Game Pass at $9.99 per month with unlimited access to over 100 Xbox One and backward-compatible Xbox 360 games, matching the summary and quote.
- XBOX Wire · Feb 28, 2017 ·
- Jun 1, 2017Xbox Game Pass becomes available to all users
- Feb 28, 2017Microsoft announces Xbox Game Pass
Questions this timeline answers
Each one is an ordered set of dated entries, most of them from this page, with a line on why each step led to the next.
Cause and effect
- Microsoft announces EA Play for Ultimate and PC Game Passwas answered by →Microsoft delays EA Play on PC Game Pass until 2021Microsoft delayed EA Play on PC after announcing that EA Play memberships would be provided to Xbox Game Pass Ultimate and PC members.
Where sources disagree or fall silent
- Microsoft has not disclosed a current Game Pass subscriber total, the number lost after the October 2025 increase, or the number of subscribers remaining by tier.
- The 34 million figure reported in February 2024 included Game Pass Core subscribers, while earlier reported milestones do not state the same basis, limiting direct comparisons.
- Microsoft has said already announced Ultimate day-one releases are unchanged, but the longer-term scope of day-one access remains unclear after new Call of Duty releases were excluded from launch-day availability.
- Microsoft has not stated the price, unit size or other commercial terms for additional cloud-streaming time or for standalone streaming of owned games.
- The July 2026 announcement said up to 3,200 jobs would be cut over the following year and four studios would be sold or spun out; the provided sources do not establish the final headcount reduction or completed terms for each studio transaction.
What to watch next
- Nov 2026 — Cloud gaming hour limits and paid streaming begin Microsoft plans to cap monthly cloud streaming at 15 hours for Ultimate, 10 for Premium and five for Essential, while selling extra time and standalone streaming access for owned games.
- Dec 8, 2026 — Microsoft annual shareholders meeting This is the next identified scheduled forum at which Microsoft could discuss Game Pass membership or gaming financial performance.
- Aug 22, 2033 — UK CMA order relating to the Activision deal ceases to have effect Its expiry would end a UK remedy affecting Microsoft's post-acquisition arrangements for Activision content and cloud gaming.
- Oct 13, 2033 — European Commission cloud-streaming commitments expire The expiry could change the regulatory conditions governing Microsoft's cloud-game-streaming arrangements after the Activision acquisition.
Who is involved
- Microsoftcompany
Owner of Xbox and the company setting Game Pass pricing, tier benefits and cloud-streaming policy.
- Xboxproduct
Microsoft's gaming business, which operates Game Pass and underwent a leadership reorganization in 2026.
- Xbox Game Passproduct
The subscription service launched in 2017 and the subject of the pricing, tier and content-access changes.
- Xbox Game Pass Ultimateproduct
The top tier, retaining announced day-one releases and set at $22.99 a month after the April 2026 reduction; its cloud allowance will be 15 hours monthly.
- Activision Blizzardcompany
Microsoft's acquired games publisher and owner of Call of Duty, whose content and cloud arrangements remain subject to UK and EU commitments.
- PC Game Passproduct
The PC subscription tier, priced at $13.99 a month after April 2026 and no longer receiving new Call of Duty games at launch.
- Asha Sharmaperson
Xbox chief executive who has said the previous Game Pass strategy contributed to declines and announced the 2026 cuts and studio divestitures.
- Xbox Game Pass Coreproduct
The former Xbox Live Gold replacement, included in Microsoft's 34 million subscriber figure before it was replaced by Essential.
33 more
- Call of Dutyproduct
The major Activision game series whose new releases will reach Ultimate and PC Game Pass about a year after launch rather than on day one.
- Xbox Game Pass Standardproduct
The former lower console tier introduced without day-one releases and later replaced by Premium.
- Xbox Live Goldproduct
Online membership bundled with Ultimate and later converted into Game Pass Core.
- Activisioncompany
Publisher named in the Black Ops 6 Game Pass announcement.
- Bethesdacompany
Gaming organization named as within Microsoft Gaming leadership oversight.
- EA Playproduct
Electronic Arts membership included with Ultimate and PC Game Pass, following a delayed PC rollout.
- Electronic Artscompany
Provider of EA Play, which Microsoft added as an Ultimate and PC Game Pass benefit.
- Kingcompany
Gaming company named as within Microsoft Gaming leadership oversight.
- Matthew Ballperson
Xbox chief strategy officer who said the October 2025 Game Pass price increase cost the service millions of subscribers.
- Microsoft Gamingcompany
Microsoft gaming organization reorganized in 2026.
- Phil Spencerperson
Former Microsoft gaming leader who announced an earlier Game Pass membership milestone and retired during the February 2026 reorganization.
- Undead Labscompany
Studio slated for divestiture that later moved State of Decay 3 to a new publisher while retaining a day-one Game Pass plan.
- Black Ops 6product
Call of Duty game confirmed for day-one Game Pass access.
- Call of Duty: Black Ops 6product
Game that became available through Game Pass Premium.
- Compulsion Gamescompany
One of four Xbox studios Microsoft said it would spin out or sell in the 2026 restructuring.
- Dave McCarthyperson
Executive named in the 2026 operating leadership entry.
- Double Fine Productionscompany
Xbox studio named in the 2026 restructuring.
- GeForce Nowproduct
Nvidia cloud gaming service named in Microsoft's cross-platform agreements.
- Helen Chiangperson
Xbox executive promoted to chief operating officer in July 2026.
- Matt Bootyperson
Xbox executive elevated to executive vice president and chief content officer in February 2026.
- Microsoft Studioscompany
Microsoft game-studio organization whose new Xbox exclusives were committed to Game Pass.
- Ninja Theorycompany
One of four Xbox studios Microsoft said it would spin out or sell as part of the July 2026 restructuring.
- Nintendocompany
Microsoft reached a 10-year Call of Duty availability agreement with Nintendo in 2023.
- Nintendo Switchproduct
Nintendo device family intended to receive Call of Duty under the agreement.
- Nvidiacompany
Company named in Microsoft's cross-platform agreements.
- Raven Softwarecompany
Developer associated with Call of Duty: Black Ops 6.
- Samsungcompany
Maker of the 2020 Tizen-based TV sets discussed in the report.
- State of Decay 3product
Undead Labs' game, which Microsoft says will still launch on Game Pass on its first day despite the studio's publisher transition.
- Treyarchcompany
Developer associated with Call of Duty: Black Ops 6.
- Windows Centralcompany
Published the report about software-update support for Samsung's 2020 TV sets.
- Xbox Cloud Gamingproduct
Microsoft's game-streaming service, which will move from effectively unlimited subscription access to capped monthly hours and paid extra time.
- Xbox Game Pass for Consoleproduct
Earlier console-only tier that stopped accepting new subscribers in July 2024 as Microsoft prepared Standard.
- Xbox Game Studioscompany
Studio organization named as under content oversight.
Changelog
- Added 1 entry: 2026-10-06 Asha Sharma says prior Game Pass strategy caused declines.
- Added 1 entry: 2024-02-15 Microsoft reports 34 million Game Pass subscribers.
- Added 1 entry: 2026-10-02 Xbox Cloud Gaming stops supporting Samsung's 2020 Tizen TVs.
- Added 1 entry: 2026-09-25 Black Ops 6 becomes available on Game Pass Premium.
- Added 1 entry: 2026-09-22 Undead Labs transitions to a new publisher for State of Decay 3.
- Added 1 entry: 2026-09-15 Xbox says announced day-one Ultimate releases have not changed.
- Added 26 entries: 2017-02-28 Microsoft announces Xbox Game Pass; 2017-06-01 Xbox Game Pass becomes available to all users; 2018-01-23 Microsoft commits new Xbox exclusives to Game Pass on release day; 2019-04-16 Microsoft announces Xbox Game Pass Ultimate and 22 more. Added 10 hand-verified entries by the editor.
A research pass records each dated fact with the page it came from and a verbatim quote. A second, independent pass re-opens every cited page and rejects entries it cannot confirm. The editor reviews what remains before it is published, and every change is listed above. Full method.