What led to NHTSA's Cybercab certification audit?
The timeline does not state NHTSA's ultimate reason for opening the audit query. It does show the sequence around it: Tesla pursued a no-controls vehicle, NHTSA had previously questioned the Austin robotaxi plan in its FSD low-visibility probe, Tesla moved from monitored to monitor-free rides, and its crash reports included two low-speed collisions attributed to teleoperators. While NHTSA was still proposing brake-rule changes for vehicles without manual controls, Tesla tested production Cybercabs, ran them unoccupied on Austin streets and began limited customer rides; NHTSA then opened the self-certification audit query the following day. Six days later, NHTSA ordered Tesla to explain under oath how a Cybercab with no steering wheel, pedals or mirrors complies with federal safety standards written for human drivers.
Trace the chain
Vehicle and service
- 1No-controls robotaxi planAnnouncement
Musk says a dedicated robotaxi with no steering wheel or pedals will reach volume production in 2024
On the first-quarter 2022 earnings call Musk said Tesla would bring a dedicated robotaxi, optimised for autonomy and without a steering wheel or pedals, to volume production in 2024, and that rides would cost less than a subsidised bus ticket. He conceded that full self-driving had produced more false dawns than any technology he had worked on.
TechCrunch ·
Tesla plans to bring a dedicated robotaxi with no steering wheel or pedals to market by 2024, CEO Elon Musk said Wednesday during Tesla’s first quarter 2022 earnings call.
Why it matters here. Tesla's plan for a dedicated robotaxi without a steering wheel or pedals led to the later public unveiling of a no-controls Cybercab.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 2Cybercab goes publicLaunch
We, Robot: Tesla unveils the two-seat Cybercab, priced under $30,000, with production targeted before 2027
At the We, Robot event on the Warner Bros. lot in Burbank, Tesla showed 20 Cybercab prototypes with butterfly doors, inductive charging and no steering wheel or pedals, plus a 20-passenger Robovan and Optimus robots. Musk said the Cybercab would cost under $30,000 to buy and about 20 cents a mile to run, promised unsupervised FSD for Model 3 and Model Y in Texas and California in 2025, and said Cybercab production would start in 2026 or before 2027.
TechCrunch ·
He acknowledged that he’s too optimistic about timelines, but said he expects the Cybercab to be in production by 2026 or “before 2027.”
Why it matters here. The unveiled two-seat Cybercab established the no-controls vehicle context as NHTSA next sought information about Tesla's Austin robotaxi plan in its FSD low-visibility probe.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 3NHTSA questions AustinRegulatory
NHTSA sends Tesla questions about the Austin robotaxi plan as part of its FSD low-visibility probe
A letter dated May 8 from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's Office of Defects Investigation, published on May 12, asked Tesla how it would evaluate its robotaxi vehicles for public roads: fleet size and models, how the system relates to FSD Supervised, how safety would be judged, whether future vehicles would meet federal safety standards or need exemptions, and how the cars would handle sun glare, fog, dust, rain or snow. The letter cited Tesla's April 23 post about its employee ride-hailing pilot and set a June 19 deadline.
TechCrunch ·
Federal safety investigators have sent Tesla a detailed list of questions on its upcoming robotaxi service as part of an investigation into how the company’s “Full Self-Driving (Supervised)” software operates in…
Why it matters here. The agency's Austin-service questions came before Tesla began paid rides there with Model Ys and in-car safety monitors.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 4Service starts monitoredLaunch
Tesla starts paid robotaxi rides in Austin with Model Ys, safety monitors and a $4.20 flat fare
Tesla's Robotaxi service began on a Sunday afternoon in a fenced area of Austin with roughly ten modified Model Ys, invited riders, mostly influencers and investors, a Tesla employee in the front passenger seat as safety monitor, daytime-only hours and a flat $4.20 fare announced by Musk on X. It was the first time Tesla carried paying passengers in cars with no one in the driver's seat.
Tesla ·
In June, we launched our Robotaxi service in the first city, Austin, with a safety rider.
Why it matters here. Beginning with safety monitors created the operating baseline from which Tesla later started customer rides without a monitor.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 5Customer rides driverlessLaunch
First paid robotaxi rides in Austin with no safety monitor in the car
Musk posted that Tesla had started Robotaxi drives in Austin with no safety monitor in the car, seven months after launch. Tesla had begun driverless testing in December; AI chief Ashok Elluswamy said a few unsupervised vehicles would be mixed into the monitored fleet with the ratio rising over time. Riders reported being charged, and chase cars were seen following the driverless vehicles.
Tesla, Inc. ·
We began testing driverless Robotaxis in Austin in December and began removing the safety monitor from customer rides in January on a limited basis, which will unlock further expansion of our Robotaxi fleet and…
Why it matters here. Austin's first paid rides without a monitor preceded Cybercab pilot production and the expansion of unsupervised rides to Dallas and Houston.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 6Cybercab enters pilot productionReport
Q1 2026 update: Cybercab in pilot production, unsupervised rides launched in Dallas and Houston
The first-quarter deck listed Cybercab in pilot production at Giga Texas, said Tesla expected volume production of Cybercab and Semi in 2026 and that Cybercab would over time replace the Model Y fleet, and reported unsupervised rides in Dallas and Houston in April along with a larger Austin area. On the call Musk said production had begun but would be very slow before ramping late in the year, with little revenue before 2027; Tesla said the car meets federal safety standards and needs no NHTSA exemption.
SEC EDGAR ·
We further expanded our unsupervised operation area in Austin and launched unsupervised rides in both Dallas and Houston in April.
Why it matters here. As Tesla expanded unsupervised operations and began Cybercab pilot production, later crash narratives became part of the safety context for the program.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 9Production Cybercab testedUpdate
Tesla tests a production Cybercab without a steering wheel or pedals
Tesla began testing a production Cybercab with two seats and no steering wheel or pedals in Austin. TechCrunch reported that a safety monitor sat in the right-front passenger seat during the tests.
TechCrunch ·
Tesla has begun testing a production version of its Cybercab that has two seats, but no steering wheel or pedals, in Austin, Texas.
Why it matters here. Testing the production no-controls Cybercab in Austin led to its subsequent driverless, unoccupied operation on public streets there.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 10Cybercabs run unoccupiedReport
Driverless Cybercabs run on Austin streets the day before the launch event; 45 authorised in Texas
The day before its launch event Tesla ran driverless Cybercabs, with no steering wheel and nobody on board, on public streets in Austin; video clips circulated on X and Musk posted A storm of Cybercabs. Texas DMV records that night showed 45 Cybercabs among 420 Tesla vehicles authorised for driverless operation in the state, and a tracker counted about 200 unsupervised vehicles across Tesla's U.S. fleet in Austin, Dallas, Houston, Miami, Orlando and Tampa.
Quartz ·
Tesla $TSLA put driverless Cybercab vehicles on public streets in Austin on Wednesday, ahead of a planned event Thursday where the company is expected to share more details about its robotaxi rollout.
Why it matters here. The Austin public-street operation of authorized Cybercabs preceded Tesla's limited customer Cybercab rides the following day.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 11Cybercab rides beginLaunch
Cybercab launch: Tesla offers driverless Cybercab rides in parts of Austin; NHTSA says it is evaluating
On the day of its invitation-only launch event Tesla updated its robotaxi site to say Cybercab rides were available in limited areas of Austin, released a video in which Musk called it the first car built specifically for unsupervised full self-driving, and let attendees ride in the gold two-seaters. NHTSA said it was in contact with Tesla and evaluating the situation, since federal rules cap sales of vehicles without steering wheels and pedals. Texas records showed 45 Cybercabs among 420 Tesla vehicles registered for driverless operation.
BusinessWorld (Reuters) ·
Tesla said on Thursday it was offering rides in “limited areas of Austin, Texas” in its two-seater Cybercab, a vehicle without a steering wheel or pedals, with the auto safety agency responding that it was evaluating…
Why it matters here. NHTSA was evaluating the vehicle when Tesla began limited Austin rides, so the next recorded federal action was an audit query into Tesla's self-certification.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
What pushes back
- 7Teleoperator crashes disclosed
Tesla stops redacting robotaxi crash narratives; two low-speed collisions were caused by teleoperators
Newly unredacted crash reports released by NHTSA gave narrative descriptions for all 17 crashes Tesla had logged on the Robotaxi network since launch; Tesla had previously blacked out every description as confidential. Two of the crashes, in July 2025 and January 2026 in Austin, happened while a remote operator was driving the car at under 10 mph after the safety monitor asked for help: one mounted a curb into a metal fence, the other scraped a construction barricade. Other cases included an unprotected left turn into a parking-lot chain and a dog that ran into the road. Most of the rest were other vehicles hitting the Teslas. Musk had said the month before that making sure things are completely safe was the biggest limit on expansion.
TechCrunch ·
It’s not clear why, but Tesla changed course this week, and the latest version of the data released by the NHTSA now provides a narrative description for all 17 crashes Tesla has recorded since last year with its…
What it pushes against. The two low-speed collisions attributed to teleoperators push against a settled safety case as NHTSA next proposed changes to a brake rule for vehicles without manual controls.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 8Brake-rule changes proposed
NHTSA proposes ADS brake-rule changes for vehicles without manual controls
NHTSA published a notice of proposed rulemaking to amend FMVSS No. 135. The proposal addressed application of the brake standard to vehicles with and without manually operated driving controls, while retaining stopping-distance requirements.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration ·
On June 26, 2026, NHTSA published an NPRM to amend FMVSS No. 135.
What it pushes against. NHTSA's proposal concerning vehicles without manual controls framed Tesla's next testing of a production Cybercab without a steering wheel or pedals.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 12Self-certification audited
NHTSA opens Cybercab self-certification audit query
NHTSA opened an Audit Query into Tesla's certification that the Cybercab meets applicable federal vehicle safety standards. The agency said it would investigate Tesla's certification process and technical data.
NHTSA ·
“The US Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) today announced that it has opened an Audit Query (AQ) to investigate Tesla’s certification that its new Cybercab meets all…
What it pushes against. The audit query keeps the no-controls Cybercab's compliance with applicable federal vehicle safety standards unresolved.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
- 13NHTSA demands justification
NHTSA orders Tesla to justify the Cybercab's self-certification under oath
NHTSA issued a Special Order requiring Tesla to show, under oath, how a vehicle with no steering wheel, pedals or mirrors complies with federal safety standards written for human drivers. Tesla has until September 30 to respond, and failing to answer fully and truthfully carries penalties of up to $139 million.
Electrek ·
The agency issued a formal Special Order on September 10 demanding that the company show, under oath, how a vehicle with no steering wheel, no pedals, and no mirrors complies with federal safety standards written for…
What it pushes against. Sworn answers are due by September 30, so what the audit turns on is what Tesla can show about a vehicle built without the controls those standards assume.
Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab: From the 2019 Promise to Driverless Rides
Changes to this chain
- Step 13 why edited by the editor: Rewritten as a closing line; the accepted version restated its own entry.
- Proposal #159 accepted (publish:tesla-cybercab-robotaxi): insert after 12: [counter] NHTSA demands justification -> tesla-cybercab-robotaxi#1437: The order specifies that the audit examines how a Cybercab without a steering wheel, pedals or mirrors complies with federal safety standards written for human drivers.; answer: The timeline does not state NHTSA's ultimate reason for opening the audit query. It does show the sequence around it: Tesla pursued a no-controls vehicle, NHTSA had previously questioned the Austin robotaxi plan in its FSD low-visibility probe, Tesla moved from monitored to monitor-free rides, and its crash reports included two low-speed collisions attributed to teleoperators. While NHTSA was still proposing brake-rule changes for vehicles without manual controls, Tesla tested production Cybercabs, ran them unoccupied on Austin streets and began limited customer rides; NHTSA then opened the self-certification audit query the following day. Six days later, NHTSA ordered Tesla to explain under oath how a Cybercab with no steering wheel, pedals or mirrors complies with federal safety standards written for human drivers.
Timelines in this chain
A chain is written by the editor from entries already published on the timelines above, each of which was read against its source before publication. The chain changes when those entries do. Data and terms.